SC Articles on Law
Susan Williams
/ Categories: DUI

How Long is Your License Suspended for a DUI conviction in South Carolina?

An action-packed night on the town drinking with friends can come to a screeching halt if you’re arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI). Even your best intentions can be put to the wayside.

The scenario

The designated driver you planned to ride with left the party before you. Or your “sober driver” got into an argument with her boyfriend and left the restaurant. Or maybe it’s was an office party, and you were too embarrassed to call a cab.

However it happened...at the end of the night, you thought you were OK to drive yourself home safely.

The reality

No one plans to get arrested for DUI. So naturally, you’re unsure about what to do after your arrest.

Having to face your friends and family after getting out of jail is, no doubt, a sobering experience. Not to mention, you’re probably overwhelmed, tired, worried and feeling you’re at the lowest you’ve ever been in your life.

One night of bad decision making can affect you for the rest of your life. And the stigma of having a DUI conviction on your record may be something you’ve never contemplated until now.

If arrested in SC for DUI, your license could be suspended two different ways at two different times.

  1. Immediately after your arrest, before you go to court

  2. After you go to court, if you’re convicted of DUI.

How long your license is suspended for a DUI in South Carolina?

That depends on a few factors, including:

  • Did you “refuse to blow”?
    If you “didn’t blow,” your driver’s license is suspended automatically. But if you’re eligible, you can still obtain a Temporary Alcohol Driver’s License that will get you back on the road driving possibly even before your DUI court date.

  • Did you blow .15 or greater?
    If you choose to “blow” your license will be suspended if your BAC is higher than .15. The higher this number, the more penalties in fines and/or jail time you’ll be facing.

What if I’m convicted of DUI (Driving Under the Influence) or DUAC (Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Content)?

If you’re convicted of an alcohol-related offense, your Driver’s License can be suspended after you go to court. In addition, you’ll need to talk to your attorney about any previous DUI or DUAC convictions you may have. DUI or DUAC convictions within the last 10 years may have an impact on how long your license is suspended for a DUI or DUAC in SC.

The table below provides an overview of license suspensions from a DUI/DUAC charge in SC.

DUI Charge

License Suspension

1st offense

6 Months

2nd offense

1 year

3rd offense

2 years

4th offense

Permanent

What should I do now?

If you’ve been charged with an alcohol related offense in South Carolina, such as DUI or DUAC, you need an attorney to walk you through each and every step. Although no attorney can guarantee an outcome, an experienced Charleston, SC DUI attorney can fight to protect your constitutional rights.

Let's Talk About The Details of Your Case.

Choosing the right attorney can be the most important step you’ll ever take. Schedule a free consultation today.

Contact Me
Previous Article How Much is the Fine for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in South Carolina?
Next Article Is a DUI a Felony or Misdemeanor in South Carolina?
Print
2218

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Search Articles
Copyright 2019 Susan E. Williams, Summerville, SC, All Rights Reserved.