Charged with Boating Under the Influence (BUI) in Charleston, SC?
Then you need an attorney in South Carolina to help you navigate the legal process.
You and a group of friends take the boat out on the lake to unwind. And before you know it, a few drinks turned into one too many.
You’re back behind the controls, and then something terrible happens. The police are called. And what’s worse, now the wake from the boating incident is nothing compared to the turmoil you now face.
If you’re convicted of BUI in Charleston, SC, there can be serious penalties.
In the eyes of the law, BUI is quite similar to DUI. The offenses are often handled similarly in terms of law enforcement and prevention efforts.
The penalties for a misdemeanor BUI conviction could include:
- Required ADSAP (South Carolina’s Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program)
- Fines ranging from $200 to $6,000 (this does not include attorney fees)
- Loss of boating license
- Possible public service
- Possible jail time, from 48 hours up to a year
If you caused property damage, serious injury or worse while boating and drinking, you’ll likely be charged with a felony BUI. And that means much more severe penalties, such as:
- Loss of boating license
- Fines from $5,000 to $25,000 (not including attorney fees)
- Mandatory time in prison, from 30 days to 25 years
If your anxiety levels are going up from thinking about all of this, stop and take a deep breath. Remember: You don’t have to go through this alone.
You need a BUI attorney
If you’re facing a BUI charge in Charleston, SC, turn to Susan Williams.
With her experience defending people charged with alcohol offenses, Susan will review the details of your case and walk you through the next steps.
At this point, you probably have a ton of questions. Let me answer a few of them for you here:
Common questions about BUI
How are the penalties for a BUI conviction determined?
The penalties will be based on the specific details of each case. The boater’s blood alcohol content level is just one factor. Other factors include:
- Was there property damage?
- Were people injured?
- If so, how serious were the injuries?
- Did the BUI result in anyone’s death?
If the answer to any of those questions was “yes,” the penalties for a BUI conviction may be more serious.
Whether this is your first, second or third BUI offense also affects the penalties you could face. The maximum penalty for a first offense in South Carolina is 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.
What’s the legal limit for intoxication?
A blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or more.
Susan is here to help.
Susan provides professional legal services to people in Charleston, SC and surrounding areas. Our firm handles charges such as alcohol violations when boating or driving, drug offenses, juvenile offenses and more.
You deserve quality representation.
She knows the important differences between a DUI and a BUI. And she’s has the skills to put those differences to use for your case in the courtroom.
Unlike with DUI sobriety tests, the arresting officer is not required to videotape a BUI suspect. This leads to a situation of the arresting officer’s word against yours or any witnesses.
Susan will examine the details of your case to evaluate whether law enforcement made mistakes that would help your case.
People choose Susan when they need a lawyer who:
- Stays in contact with her clients
- Returns your phone calls
- Has the ability to evaluate strengths and weaknesses of your case
- Helps you every step of the way
- Recognizes how a conviction could destroy your life
Waiting to take action won’t make this problem disappear. Don’t wait. Use this form, or call 843-607-9800 to schedule a free consultation with a Charleston, SC BUI attorney.
What if it’s my 1st, 2nd or 3rd DUI offense?
DUI is a “graduated’ offense. In other words, the more you accumulate within a 10 year period, the stiffer the penalties. Under South Carolina law, a DUI first offense with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% to .10% has the lowest penalties. As the BAC level increases, the penalties increase.
Should I just plead guilty?
You may have defenses you didn’t even know about and a criminal defense attorney may be able to help. If you feel you are not guilty, you can exercise your constitutional right to a jury trial. If convicted of DUI, you face serious consequences, even if it’s your first offense. It’s always smart to contact an attorney right away, before you make any decisions. The decisions you make now may affect your future job opportunities, insurance premiums, and many other things.
What if my driver’s license is suspended?
If your license is suspended as a result of your DUI arrest, there may be a way to obtain a Temporary Alcohol Restricted License if you qualify. There is a limited time frame to obtain this license (30 days from the date of your arrest), so the sooner you apply for it the better your chances are of obtaining it if you qualify.
Why should I hire an experienced DUI attorney?
Not every DUI arrest ends in conviction. A DUI attorney in Summerville, SC could help you create a strong, legitimate defense for your case.
If you feel that you were wrongly arrested, contact me immediately. There’s no reason to face defending a DUI alone — and you won’t. I’ll be in your corner.
Let’s Talk About The Details of Your Case.
Choosing the right attorney can be the most important step you’ll ever take. Schedule a free consultation today.