SC Articles on Law
Susan Williams
/ Categories: DUI

How Much is the Fine for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in South Carolina?

Under SC Code of Laws 56-5-2930, if you’re convicted of DUI, the fine depends on whether this is your first, second, third or more DUI conviction. The fine also depends on your blood alcohol level (i.e. if “you blew”). You may have to pay court costs on top of the fines listed below.

The chart below is a basic summary of the fines associated with DUI’s in South Carolina. These fines do not have anything to do with attorney fees; they are merely the fines associated with DUI’s according to SC law. Some of these fines may not be mandatory. Of course, there may be other penalties (such as jail time, community service hours, ignition device on your vehicle, drivers license suspended etc.) that you can discuss with your attorney. “BAC” means “Blood Alcohol Concentration” as determined by a breath sample test.

Offense

Refused to blow

BAC less than .10

BAC is .10 but less than .16

BAC is .16 or more

DUI 1st

$400 fine

$400 fine

$500 fine

$1,000 fine

DUI 2nd

$2,100 fine

$2,100 fine

$2,500 to $5,500 fine

$3,500 to
$6,500

DUI 3rd

$3,800 to
$6,300 fine

$3,800 to
$6,300 fine

$5,000 to
$7,500 fine

$7,500 to $10,000

Do I have to pay these fines plus my attorney fees?

No, not necessarily. If you are convicted of a DUI offense, depending on the offense, you might not have to pay the fine. You may be able to do community service or jail time instead of paying a fine. You’ll likely spend at least one day in jail and should get credit for the time you've already been in jail. Also, depending on your offense, the fine could be lessened.

Get Help

If you’re facing a DUI in the Charleston, SC area, contact Susan Williams to help you determine what your options are.

Let's Talk About The Details of Your Case.

Choosing the right attorney can be the most important step you’ll ever take. Schedule a free consultation today.

Contact Me
Previous Article Welcome To My New Website
Next Article How Long is Your License Suspended for a DUI conviction in South Carolina?
Print
3574

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Search Articles
Copyright 2019 Susan E. Williams, Summerville, SC, All Rights Reserved.